Author Topic: Purebasic... on OSX!  (Read 1900 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jace_stknights

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Karma: 32
  • PEEK & POKE are not MOVEM!
    • View Profile
    • ST Knights WebSite
Purebasic... on OSX!
« on: March 19, 2012 »
Yep, got 3 macs at home...(Intels, PPC) even if I'm making remakes on Wintel, I always wanted to port them on my favorite OS.

After a couple of minutes (finally a real multiOS language!!!), I got a first intro working : A-Team OutRun!

but got some obscur problems:
  • after 10 seconds, the intro is running sloooooooooww (about 1 frame each second) and don't respond.
  • the program takes about 900Mb in memory!!! (on windows, it take less than 10Mb!)
  • There a lof differences betwen the OS: for example, to display sprites, you don't have to use StartDrawing(ScreenOutput() using it simply not display the sprite  ???)!

Someone also use PB on OSX here?
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Jim

  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 5301
  • Karma: 402
    • View Profile
Re: Purebasic... on OSX!
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012 »
Not me, but I made my own humour by thinking you'd said it was running on OS2. :D
Jim
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline jace_stknights

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Karma: 32
  • PEEK & POKE are not MOVEM!
    • View Profile
    • ST Knights WebSite
Re: Purebasic... on OSX!
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2012 »
Not me, but I made my own humour by thinking you'd said it was running on OS2. :D

I know I got lotsa old computers here... but OS2 (even if it was better than win95 at the time) is not one of my favorite oldschool OS... PureBasic on AmigaOS, yep!  :kewl:
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline jace_stknights

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Karma: 32
  • PEEK & POKE are not MOVEM!
    • View Profile
    • ST Knights WebSite
Re: Purebasic... on OSX!
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2012 »
Here it is! I've found the bug about memory leak: the TransparentSpriteColor() is 100000x bugged!

If you specify a sprite ID, it will grow and grow the memory of the app until  infinite  :boxer:
You have to use fix a default color for all your sprite or use Spite3D blending mode (awfulll) TransparentSpriteColor(#PB_Default,RGB(255,255,255))

I've join a first test, is there someone here to try it????

Now I have to convert OSME to OSX...
« Last Edit: March 19, 2012 by jace_stknights »
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline dr.zeissler

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Purebasic... on OSX!
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2018 »

Offline dr.zeissler

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Purebasic... on OSX!
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2018 »
Now I have to convert OSME to OSX...

Did you do that ?
Seems to be essential for getting oldschool-music working on OSX.

Offline jace_stknights

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Karma: 32
  • PEEK & POKE are not MOVEM!
    • View Profile
    • ST Knights WebSite
Re: Purebasic... on OSX!
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2018 »
Nope I stopped activities last 5 years...  :-[
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline dr.zeissler

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Purebasic... on OSX!
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2018 »
and I stopped using pB to compile retro-remakes on previously unsupported platforms like: OSX/win9x.