Author Topic: Democoding with Java?  (Read 2032 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mz

  • ZX 81
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Democoding with Java?
« on: July 14, 2015 »
Hi Guys,
I am here for a long time present in the Forum as a reader and have tried me in FreeBASIC. Since I switched to a Mac and not feel like I set up a Windows, I wanted to leave my creativity in Java.
Now I noticed, I light sometimes a little later that there are hardly any contributions for Java.
Is Java coding for Demo unsuitable? Or why there is so little to?


Offline combatking0

  • JavaScript lives!
  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4569
  • Karma: 235
  • Retroman!
    • View Profile
    • Combat King's Barcode Battler Home
Re: Democoding with Java?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2015 »
Java can be great for demo coding, but from my own personal experience, it has been tricky to set up the SDK.

It would be great to see what effects you can create with Java though :)
You are our 9001st visitor.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline padman

  • Senior Member
  • Pentium
  • ********
  • Posts: 978
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: Democoding with Java?
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2015 »
I personally find Java slow and annoying. But of course it is possible to code demos with it. Some oldschool examples are available at http://www.flashtro.com/index.php?e=page&c=Java

If you only want to play around for yourself on your Mac, I'd recommend to take a look at Purebasic. (http://www.purebasic.com/download.php) There's a MacOS X version available. And most Windows examples should be easily portable to work on MacOS too. With some limitations.

It has already been done. For an example see here: http://www.dbfinteractive.com/forum/index.php?topic=5229.20
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline mz

  • ZX 81
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Democoding with Java?
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2015 »
Hey, thanks for the answers. I think I put myself the challange and try which lends a little intro.
Let's see what will come ...... ;D

Offline Shockwave

  • good/evil
  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 17378
  • Karma: 497
  • evil/good
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: Democoding with Java?
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2015 »
I might join you mz, I've recently switched jobs in work from .net to Java so I need to brush up on my skills!

Shockwave ^ Codigos
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Knurz

  • Atari ST
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
  • Karma: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Democoding with Java?
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2015 »
I don't know any Java I only had some training with the VM itself (working as a sysadmin)...

Don't you run in any perfomance problems when the STW/GC kicks in ?
Remember what the dormouse said: Feed your head

Offline mz

  • ZX 81
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Democoding with Java?
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2015 »
hi,
i would say that I can coding Java quite well, i work with it every day at work, but only backend.
i see a challenge to coding with Java and only with Java methods a little intro.
get away from the databases  ;D

i'm not good at graphics, but i must read documents, first  :-\

i set the daily times my first steps at your disposal.

but do not laugh  ;D


greetz
mz