Author Topic: What do you use to code Flash?  (Read 3094 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline combatking0

  • JavaScript lives!
  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4569
  • Karma: 235
  • Retroman!
    • View Profile
    • Combat King's Barcode Battler Home
What do you use to code Flash?
« on: July 27, 2009 »
Which version of Macromedia / Adobe Flash do you use?

If it isn't one of the above, what is it called, and what version does it output?

I use Flash 8, which is installed on my laptop from work on their site license.
I also have a private copy of Flash 9, but I lack the hardware to run it.
You are our 9001st visitor.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline benny!

  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4380
  • Karma: 228
  • in this place forever!
    • View Profile
    • bennyschuetz.com - mycroBlog
Re: What do you use to code Flash?
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2009 »
I did not use any Flash IDE von Adobe at all. I code everything from
scratch using the free Flex 3.0 SDK from Adobe.

As a tool to edit my code (IDE) I use the great FlashDevelop - AFAIK
only available for Windows platform.

Since flex3.0 supports already all Flash10 libs, you can choose to
export/"compile" your code to target Flash7, Flash8, Flash9 or Flash10
player.
[ mycroBLOG - POUET :: whatever keeps us longing - for another breath of air - is getting rare ]

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Shockwave

  • good/evil
  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 17378
  • Karma: 497
  • evil/good
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: What do you use to code Flash?
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2009 »
Sounds like Flex3.0 has great support.
Shockwave ^ Codigos
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline combatking0

  • JavaScript lives!
  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4569
  • Karma: 235
  • Retroman!
    • View Profile
    • Combat King's Barcode Battler Home
Re: What do you use to code Flash?
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2009 »
I had heard about Flex, but I wasn't sure about what it could do.

With it being free, I'll recomend it to my pupils.

I wonder what the differences are between the Flex and Flash platforms.
You are our 9001st visitor.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline benny!

  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4380
  • Karma: 228
  • in this place forever!
    • View Profile
    • bennyschuetz.com - mycroBlog
Re: What do you use to code Flash?
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2009 »
Well, I think this is more a problem of some word
puzzling. At the beginning I was confused by that,
too.

Flex is nothing more than a development framework
that produces a SWF file.

Well, AFAIK Flash is only the authoring tool/IDE
by Adobe. But in general people speak about the
Flash platform meaning the flash player (virtual
machine) which executes SWF files.

Flex as a development framework can be used with
actionscript3.0 only - or you can use flex' markup
language called MXML (or a mix out of both)
[ mycroBLOG - POUET :: whatever keeps us longing - for another breath of air - is getting rare ]

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline combatking0

  • JavaScript lives!
  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4569
  • Karma: 235
  • Retroman!
    • View Profile
    • Combat King's Barcode Battler Home
Re: What do you use to code Flash?
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2009 »
Does that mean Flex is code only?
You are our 9001st visitor.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline benny!

  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4380
  • Karma: 228
  • in this place forever!
    • View Profile
    • bennyschuetz.com - mycroBlog
Re: What do you use to code Flash?
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2009 »
Does that mean Flex is code only?

No, Flex was actually designed to create RIA's (rich internet applications). Preferable
normal GUI stuff. There are GUI builders, too - so you have a design tool like Flash IDE,
too. But in the end you can use pure MXML/Actionscript too.
[ mycroBLOG - POUET :: whatever keeps us longing - for another breath of air - is getting rare ]

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline combatking0

  • JavaScript lives!
  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4569
  • Karma: 235
  • Retroman!
    • View Profile
    • Combat King's Barcode Battler Home
Re: What do you use to code Flash?
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2009 »
I guess that means Flex is a bit more versitile than the Flash development environment?

I just had a look at the Flex download page - is the Open Source version free, while the Adobe version is not? The Adobe ones seem to be a lot bigger.
You are our 9001st visitor.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline benny!

  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4380
  • Karma: 228
  • in this place forever!
    • View Profile
    • bennyschuetz.com - mycroBlog
Re: What do you use to code Flash?
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2009 »
Yup. That could be. But tbh honest I do not know it exactly.
The bigger Flex SDK version is because of some additional
packages by Adobe which are not open source...

Hmm ... good question, CK0.

[ mycroBLOG - POUET :: whatever keeps us longing - for another breath of air - is getting rare ]

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline combatking0

  • JavaScript lives!
  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4569
  • Karma: 235
  • Retroman!
    • View Profile
    • Combat King's Barcode Battler Home
Re: What do you use to code Flash?
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2009 »
I'll have to investigate the OS version and adapt the tutorials and lessons as required.
You are our 9001st visitor.
Challenge Trophies Won: