Poll

Please leave your vote

Well above average
2 (66.7%)
Above average
1 (33.3%)
Average
0 (0%)
Below average
0 (0%)
Well below average
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 2

Author Topic: Dimensions  (Read 4431 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Clyde

  • A Little Fuzzy Wuzzy
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 7271
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Dimensions
« on: May 03, 2006 »
Dimensions By Clyde Designs



Here you can find a creation of mine and 1st installment of my first multiparter demo series.

Download Dimensions

Cheers and many thanks for watching,
Clyde.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2006 by Clyde »
Still Putting The IT Into Gravy
If Only I Knew Then What I Know Now.

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Optimus

  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 2452
  • Karma: 128
    • View Profile
    • Optimouse Demo Site
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2006 »
Nifty demo. Great music, some great plasmas there :)
Great blurred particles, love the colorfull blur stars with the 3d (goes a bit slower when the 3d object comes close ;P)
I really enjoyed it!
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline relsoft

  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 3303
  • Karma: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2006 »
Same as in the other dimension demo
 "memory access violation" then it crashes.
WinXP SP2
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Clyde

  • A Little Fuzzy Wuzzy
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 7271
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2006 »
@Optimus: Cheers matey.
@Relsoft: Soz about MAV dude, will take alook and see why thats happening now.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2006 by Clyde »
Still Putting The IT Into Gravy
If Only I Knew Then What I Know Now.

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Shockwave

  • good/evil
  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 17378
  • Karma: 497
  • evil/good
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2006 »
Lol, check the Blur ;)
Shockwave ^ Codigos
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Clyde

  • A Little Fuzzy Wuzzy
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 7271
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2006 »
Project Updated

Lots of bugs fixed now. Please try the new download link.
Dimensions

Cheers and all the best,
Clyde.
Still Putting The IT Into Gravy
If Only I Knew Then What I Know Now.

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline relsoft

  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 3303
  • Karma: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2006 »
Same error. Different part of the program now though. :*)

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline DrewPee

  • I Toast Therefore I am
  • Pentium
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
  • Karma: 25
  • Eat Cheese - It's good for you!
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computer Museum
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2006 »
I also get a MAV, also runing XP service pack 2 - on a Pentium D (2.66ghz x 2) - 1Gb Ram and a NVidia GeForce 6500!
Don't know if that helps?
Nice demo (as far as it gets . . .)

Regards
Andy
DrewPee
aka Falcon of The Lost Boyz (Amiga)
Ex-Amiga Coder and Graphic Designer
Administrator of > www.retrocomputermuseum.co.uk

Offline Clyde

  • A Little Fuzzy Wuzzy
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 7271
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2006 »
Thanks dudes, as Im so used to using FBIDE I forgot to create new executables with BB.
Fingers crossed this should now work without hickups.
I've decided to remix this series of Demos into Freebasic as Dimensions is a rather old and early affair with Blitz. When I looked through the codes ( which Im suprised I still have ), it's a right royal mess.

Project Updated

Please try the new download link.
Dimensions

Cheers and all the best,
Clyde.
Still Putting The IT Into Gravy
If Only I Knew Then What I Know Now.

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline DrewPee

  • I Toast Therefore I am
  • Pentium
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
  • Karma: 25
  • Eat Cheese - It's good for you!
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computer Museum
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2006 »
Clyde
Thanks - that worked a treat - you sure have some nice routines in there!
Would it be okay if anybody used your CLYDE92 font? It looks very good!

DrewPee aka Andy
DrewPee
aka Falcon of The Lost Boyz (Amiga)
Ex-Amiga Coder and Graphic Designer
Administrator of > www.retrocomputermuseum.co.uk

Offline Shockwave

  • good/evil
  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 17378
  • Karma: 497
  • evil/good
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2006 »
Was it the blur routine? :) Thanks for the updates Clyde :) :)
Shockwave ^ Codigos
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Clyde

  • A Little Fuzzy Wuzzy
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 7271
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2006 »
@Drewpee: Feel free to use, just a little credit would be nice.

@Shockwave: No worries. It wasnt the blur routine as such, it was the screen boundary checks of some of the other effects that were using it. And I found it odd, that both D1 and D2 worked a while or so back. And didnt give a MAV.

Thanks all for liking and watching my early day efforts there will be more to come from the Dimensions series ;)

Cheers and humble thanks,
Clyde Radcliffe.
Still Putting The IT Into Gravy
If Only I Knew Then What I Know Now.

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Shockwave

  • good/evil
  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 17378
  • Karma: 497
  • evil/good
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2006 »
They were well cool.
Looking forward to the FB versions!
Shockwave ^ Codigos
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline TinDragon

  • Pentium
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
  • Karma: 24
    • View Profile
    • J2K's blog
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #13 on: August 03, 2006 »
I have had alot of my old blitz demos fail to work for me when they use to work fine, everytime it's been down to a bounds check when drawing a pixel. It seems the newer drivers by both nvidia and ati kick out the MAV's when they didnt before, but in all cases it's been a typo or an incorrect size for a bounds check and really should have caused problems originally.

Offline Dad1916

  • Atari ST
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
    • Quadriga demo group
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #14 on: August 03, 2006 »
Very nice indeed, well done. I love the starfield blur effect.  O0 O0

Offline relsoft

  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 3303
  • Karma: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #15 on: August 03, 2006 »
Still MAVing. grrrrrrr

Now on the startup.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Clyde

  • A Little Fuzzy Wuzzy
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 7271
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #16 on: August 03, 2006 »
@TD1 - Cheers for that info dude.

Anyone else witnessing problems with MAV aka Memory Access Violations?
Still Putting The IT Into Gravy
If Only I Knew Then What I Know Now.

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Shockwave

  • good/evil
  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 17378
  • Karma: 497
  • evil/good
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #17 on: August 04, 2006 »
As it's not caused by a missing image I'd suggest again that it's due to an illegal memory or array access. My blur routine used to do that and it also had the bug where the screen scrolled up by one pixel per frame  so if it is my blur routine I'd suggest you look there.
Shockwave ^ Codigos
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Clyde

  • A Little Fuzzy Wuzzy
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 7271
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #18 on: August 04, 2006 »
For Dimensions Im using an adapted blur routine by Andreas Blixt, and I've double checked everything to do with those types of effects. And as it's the first part with the plasmas that Relsoft is having problems with, I'll have to dive further into the code to splat whatever could be causing the MAV. Sorry for that.

But, I am racking my brains as to why there's an memory access violation right at the start, where earlier it was working for Relsoft. As on my PC, it works perfectly.
Still Putting The IT Into Gravy
If Only I Knew Then What I Know Now.

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Shockwave

  • good/evil
  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 17378
  • Karma: 497
  • evil/good
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: Dimensions
« Reply #19 on: August 04, 2006 »
Mmm.. Well it could be an out of bounds array access in a sine table or something like that.
Shockwave ^ Codigos
Challenge Trophies Won: