Author Topic: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro  (Read 5716 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bobfresh

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
[LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« on: March 12, 2010 »
TA - DA!!!  :carrot:

BOBFRESH's ENTRY IS HERE!!!!

CPU: Approx 1.5 Ghz min w/mmx support. (Any P2+ or Athlon should do fine.)
GFX:Pure Software so any..

Heres my first entry in any compo ever .. so be nice.
I went retro because im still learning gl. and it hurts my brain.
maybe next time ill strain your gfx card instead of your cpu  ;) :D

Ive now fixed the issues with Intel processors. Just Drop the Intel version in the same folder as the AMD only version. Amd users can try both.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2010 by bobfresh »

Offline padman

  • Senior Member
  • Pentium
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2010 »
Sorry, it tells me FMOD.DLL is missing. I copied the one I have to the folder, but then it just crashes. You should update the archive with the version of fmod.dll that you used.

Quote
ps. how do i up a screenshot?

Attach -> more attachments -> select your pic
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline bobfresh

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2010 »
thx so much, man. its fixed now. forgot to include a required dll.
my bad.

Offline padman

  • Senior Member
  • Pentium
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2010 »
No prob. That was a quick fix, but it still crashes here on Win XP. :( Could be my computer though, so let's wait and see if it works for others. Looks interesting from what I can tell from the screenshot. And the tune is nice for sure! ;) Anyways, congrats on your first entry and good luck in the compo!
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline bobfresh

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2010 »
No prob. That was a quick fix, but it still crashes here on Win XP. :( Could be my computer though, so let's wait and see if it works for others. Looks interesting from what I can tell from the screenshot. And the tune is nice for sure! ;) Anyways, congrats on your first entry and good luck in the compo!
Thanks for ur support at this point i can only assume that it was a "data/" dir error since i dont wanna point the finger at any external lib....... :bfuck2:
Fixed again.... (he says crossing his fingers.)

Offline padman

  • Senior Member
  • Pentium
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2010 »
Sorry mate, still no luck, but you should wait until others have tested it aswell, I had things in the past that ran on almost every computer but mine. ;) But I can tell you how it crashes here. A small black window opens up, music starts and immediately after that I get the error message that an error ocurred. Music keeps on playing though.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline zawran

  • Sponsor
  • Pentium
  • *******
  • Posts: 909
  • Karma: 67
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2010 »
It crashes on my computer as well. Its running Vista. No music here though, just a small black window, and then an error window on top of that saying that it stopped working.

Offline bobfresh

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2010 »


Crikey.
Ok since I'm more interested in learning than prizes and whathaveyou.. ive posted the source in the freebasic section of the board requesting help.
   
 My own fault... shoulda know it wouldn't go perfect on my first release. Link TBA

Request that a moderator please take down this topic.

Offline padman

  • Senior Member
  • Pentium
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2010 »
Don't give up so fast. Ask for help, fix it, stay in the compo!  :)
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline bobfresh

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2010 »
Not giving up bud. Just asking for help.

I know i have issues with the perspective code and would love the advise of some like shockwave or rbz or any of the other regulars..DBZ is a great place to learn and thats what im here for.
The compo's are just an incentive for me. I appreciate ur help loads (Ive sent u my msn if you wanna chat or test or whatever :D )

Long live DFB. The friendliest place ive found.

Offline Kirl

  • Senior Member
  • Pentium
  • ********
  • Posts: 1197
  • Karma: 229
    • View Profile
    • Homepage
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2010 »
It worked nicely for me (winXP), I like it very much, excellent music! 
Still got it running in the background. :updance:

Where do you guys get all these excellent chiptunes???
« Last Edit: March 12, 2010 by Kirl »
www.kirl.nl
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Rbz

  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 2714
  • Karma: 484
    • View Profile
    • http://www.rbraz.com/
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2010 »
It crashes with error code 0xc000001d - "ILLEGAL_INSTRUCTION", it seems that you are using some mmx instructions only available on AMD processors ???

I never saw that happening on freebasic.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline padman

  • Senior Member
  • Pentium
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2010 »
Quote
Where do you guys get all these excellent chiptunes???

www.modarchive.org for example :)
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline bobfresh

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2010 »
AAAAHH!!! MY bad should have said it needs 3dnow v2 / SSE 1

It uses the pavgusb instruction. damn.
I should have remembered that, I wrote that routine from scratch.

help-par-exellence there man. thanks.

@ kirl aww. thanks man. finally someone got it working. I think i should tone down my min requirements some. maybe.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2010 by bobfresh »

Offline padman

  • Senior Member
  • Pentium
  • ********
  • Posts: 977
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2010 »
Works here on my gf's computer with Win 2000 (which is an AMD). Truly nice effect you have there. Well done!  :clap:
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Clyde

  • A Little Fuzzy Wuzzy
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ******
  • Posts: 7271
  • Karma: 71
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #15 on: March 12, 2010 »
Welldone on your first ever outting bobfresh dude! :D
Still Putting The IT Into Gravy
If Only I Knew Then What I Know Now.

Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline Shockwave

  • good/evil
  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 17374
  • Karma: 497
  • evil/good
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #16 on: March 12, 2010 »
Bombs out here (Windows 7).
I'll check the FB version :)
Shockwave ^ Codigos
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline bobfresh

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #17 on: March 12, 2010 »
Welldone on your first ever outting bobfresh dude! :D

awww thanks clyde. I dont want this to turn into a backslapping ceremony.. but coming from u that means alot. thank you.

Offline Shockwave

  • good/evil
  • Founder Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 17374
  • Karma: 497
  • evil/good
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #18 on: March 12, 2010 »
I think your screen resolution isn't helping.
A 400 * 300 screen will be incompatible with a lot of cards, you might want to try changing that to something more standard like 640 * 480 or 800*600..
Shockwave ^ Codigos
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline bobfresh

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [LIQUID] Liquidize Retro
« Reply #19 on: March 12, 2010 »
its weird tbh shockwave.... it not supposed to run at fs mode but it will (cos that never caused a prob for me..) the issue i think is with the AMD specific code. PAVGUSB is remappable on a p4+ afaik but it seems to cause errors so i will rewrite for mmx-only capable proccessors can handle.. also there may be some issues with my rgn code.. but i doubt this is because of me more likely win updates. either way i will fix it. promise. if you're looking at the source ..  mmxblur is likely to be your culprit....
« Last Edit: March 12, 2010 by bobfresh »