Author Topic: Star Wars Scroller / Crawler  (Read 958 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KrazyK

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: 97
    • View Profile
    • KrazyK Remakes
Star Wars Scroller / Crawler
« on: December 21, 2017 »
Has anyone ever managed to do a decent Star Wars scroller/crawler in PB without using the 3D engine or any other 3rd party 3D libraries like MP3D or Epyx?
I tried ages ago and failed but having been inspired by the latest movie release i've tried again and think I may have cracked it this time.  It's still early but it's working very smoothly and without and 3D libraries, just standard PB calls.  I'll make it into library and add a piece of test code when I have a bit more time as it's just an initialization call with the text address, width and height of the screen then a call from within the main loop to keep it going.
Quick screenshot of work in progress.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline combatking0

  • JavaScript lives!
  • Senior Member
  • DBF Aficionado
  • ********
  • Posts: 4569
  • Karma: 235
  • Retroman!
    • View Profile
    • Combat King's Barcode Battler Home
Re: Star Wars Scroller / Crawler
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2017 »
This looks great! Perhaps a little pixellated when the text gets far away, but other than that it's hard to tell it apart from the real deal.
You are our 9001st visitor.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline emook

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Star Wars Scroller / Crawler
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2018 »
Lovely!
----

R Tape loading error, 0:1

Offline KrazyK

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: 97
    • View Profile
    • KrazyK Remakes
Re: Star Wars Scroller / Crawler
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2018 »
Here's the first version of the x86 library compiled using 5.61.  Don't use it on x64 as it will not work.
I've tried to make it a simple as possible to use and only has 2 commands:

Crawler_Init & Crawler_Go
See the example for further details.

I've  included a small example which i'm sure can be added to for the full intro effect.

Edit:
New version 1.01 with a few extra parameters for x86 and x64

Also included is a nearly finished intro.



« Last Edit: January 20, 2018 by KrazyK »
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline ttemper

  • Atari ST
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Star Wars Scroller / Crawler
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2018 »
Hey :) I went to check out the demo and the first part works (star wars logo zoom out), then when the scroller gets on screen, it's incorrectly placed and rather small (see screenshot).

Using win7 x64 to run it... not sure if "Don't use it on x64 as it will not work" applies here or not.


Offline KrazyK

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: 97
    • View Profile
    • KrazyK Remakes
Re: Star Wars Scroller / Crawler
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2018 »
Hi ttemper, the compiled  exe should work on x64 too.  I guess not on yours though.
I've tried it on two  machines here.  x64 laptop with intel gfx, x64 pc with nvidia gfx.
What happens when you run the example code after copying the x64 library over?
Try changing the screen dimensons and post a screenshot. The screen height must be at least 200px.  Try 1600x900 as that look kinda nice.
Try installing the starwars.ttf font attached here in the zip to see if that makes any difference.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline inc.

  • Contact me @ skype: a5recordings
  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 18
  • I SPEAK ENGLISH & GERMAN as good as i can :D
    • View Profile
Re: Star Wars Scroller / Crawler
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2018 »
same here.
i used your code and compiled it with purebasic 5.61

not working well with the 3d scroller
currently coding in PureBasic: GLSL Shader Maker & Editor Tool for further Demo coding usage

Offline ttemper

  • Atari ST
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Star Wars Scroller / Crawler
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2018 »
I installed the font, no change. As for compiling it myself, I don't have PureBasic, so unable to test that method.

Offline KrazyK

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: 97
    • View Profile
    • KrazyK Remakes
Re: Star Wars Scroller / Crawler
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2018 »
Ah crap!. 
I'll go back through and make sure all variables are doing what they're supposed to be doing! This may take some time.  Now 3 machines i've tested all appear to work fine.  Argghhh...
 ::)
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline inc.

  • Contact me @ skype: a5recordings
  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: 18
  • I SPEAK ENGLISH & GERMAN as good as i can :D
    • View Profile
Re: Star Wars Scroller / Crawler
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2018 »
why not include the userlib as CODE, so we can find the BUG?


the main code does not give much options to fix some with the scroller.  :carrot:
currently coding in PureBasic: GLSL Shader Maker & Editor Tool for further Demo coding usage