Author Topic: 3D Starballs Library  (Read 3813 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KrazyK

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: 131
    • View Profile
    • KrazyK Remakes
3D Starballs Library
« on: March 18, 2019 »
Here's my 3D sprite starfield library for PureBasic.   I wrote it last year before my hard drive died and lost everything and meant to post it ages ago but forgot all about it.
The example shows how to use a random set of values on how to control the movement.  But it can easily be changed to have preset values in an array or a DataSection.
I'll post an example if anyone needs it.
Just add the appropriate library into your PureBasic folders, load the example and run.
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline ~Ar-S~

  • C= 64
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 26
  • Demo RuleZ
    • View Profile
Re: 3D Starballs Library
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2019 »
Hey.
Thanks.
I try it with PB 5.70 x64 and it works fine.
There is just a problem in the code. The KK_StarBallInfo() do not work, i ; it
~ Ar-S ~

Offline KrazyK

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: 131
    • View Profile
    • KrazyK Remakes
Re: 3D Starballs Library
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2019 »
Thanks for testing the library.  The KK_StarballsInfo() is just a messagebox with version info like below.  I no longer have the original code so it looks like I didn't include that function for x64.  It's only on x86 it appears.
I'll try to re-code it again when I have a bit more time.

[edit]
It appears I added an 's' to the KK_StarBallInfo() comamnd, so for x64 it's KK_StarBallsInfo(),  Problem solved - my mistake when writing it.


« Last Edit: April 25, 2019 by KrazyK »
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline ymerdy

  • ZX 81
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 3D Starballs Library
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2019 »
Hello,
thank you for your library, works fine for me too (5.70_x64)
Are there other functions than KK_StarBallsInfo(), KK_StarBallsInit(), KK_StarBallsSpeed(), KK_StarBallsDraw() ?
Is it ppossible to have several StarBalls instances at the same time (to mix different sprites for example)!?

Thank you.

Offline KrazyK

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: 131
    • View Profile
    • KrazyK Remakes
Re: 3D Starballs Library
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2019 »
Hi.
There are no other commands in the library and there can be only one instance using one sprite.
I may have to re-write it if I get time, and can remember how I did it.
Were you thinking of having multiple starfields moving in different directions with one sprite or one starfield with multiple sprites?
Challenge Trophies Won:

Offline ymerdy

  • ZX 81
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 3D Starballs Library
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2019 »
Hi,

I imagined one starfield with random repartition of multiple sprites, but several starfields, each with one different sprite, would do the job, and would allow more possibilities (one starfield for blood cells, plus one starfield for viruses, or clouds + airplanes + rain, etc... well, perhaps a full 3D shootmup could be done with your lib only!).

Anyway, thanks again for your lib, that's a great job!

Offline xp

  • ZX 81
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 3D Starballs Library
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2021 »
how you make the lib for x64 ?

..tailbite still allive?

Offline KrazyK

  • Amiga 1200
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
  • Karma: 131
    • View Profile
    • KrazyK Remakes
Re: 3D Starballs Library
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2021 »
how you make the lib for x64 ?

..tailbite still allive?
Yes, tailbite is still alive but i've only had luck with a specific version, 1.4.17.
Challenge Trophies Won: